Skip to Main Content

About Special Collections and University Archives

General information and policies about Special Collections and University Archives

Why Donate to Special Collections?

Students study a rare book

Donations of books, manuscripts, archival materials and other items significantly contribute to teaching, learning, and research excellence of ODU. Many collections were established as gifts from generous alumni, faculty members and donors. A determination of whether a prospective gift enhances the value of our holdings for research, teaching and creative expression requires careful review. Staff members consider a variety of factors including, collection history, condition and existing collections strength and priorities. Our collections development strategy is also guided by our commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

How to Donate Materials

ODU Historical Materials: If you would like to donate materials related to ODU history or records created by ODU for permanent retention, contact University Archivist Steven Bookman. 

Community Archives Collections: For donations of materials documenting local, regional, and national history, please contact Jessica Ritchie, Head of Special Collections and University Archives.

Monetary Gifts: Monetary gifts help us complete our mission to document and share the history of ODU and the regional community. Gifts may be made to the Special Collections and University Archives by selecting "Library" as the recipient of your gift on the University's Give Now Form.

Helpful Resources about Donations

title
Loading...
chat loading...