LibGuides: Teaching with Special Collections and University Archives: Local History

Introduction

This guide describes the collections relating to local history housed in the Special Collections of the Old Dominion University Library. These collections include the papers of two prominent Norfolk families, the records of a now defunct local amusement park, the records of a civic organization, the personal papers of two Old Dominion University professors, and three photograph collections. These collections contain correspondence, diaries, genealogical material, reports, minutes, proceedings, newspaper clippings, postcards, and photographs.

The entries are arranged alphabetically, including the collection number, the inclusive dates of the collection and the collection's size. Please note the collection number because it acts as the location code. Electronic finding aids are available where highlighted. All other finding aids are available in the repository.

Local History Collections

MG 46 Cook Family Papers, 1872-1976. 6 Hollinger boxes and 1 Hollinger document case.
These papers primarily document the lives of the children of Arthur Clarico and Emma Blow Freeman, and later generations, and include correspondence, diaries, minutes and proceedings, photographs, scrapbooks, charts, diagrams, lists, real estate plats, and maps. Most of the collection centers on the personal and business papers of Allen Merriam Cook. The collection documents a prominent Norfolk family, the development of subdivisions in Norfolk and Virginia Beach, and the career of a Naval Officer from 1889-1919. Of special note is the minutes and proceedings of the Princess Anne and Norfolk Mutual Building and Loan Association and real estate plats for the Norfolk and Virginia Beach area.
MG 78 Paul G. Caplan Papers, 1918-2002, undated. 63 Hollinger document cases and 1 oversize box.
Norfolk pharmacist. Chaired the board of the Norfolk Port and Industrial Authority, which runs Norfolk International Terminals and the Norfolk International Airport, for thirteen years and was a board member from 1962 to 1987. Served on several political campaign committees, including those of Roy B. Martin and Stanley Walker. Was very active in civic affairs, including the Norfolk Junior Chamber of Commerce, Virginia Jaycees, United States Jaycees, Tidewater Chapter of the American Red Cross, Norfolk Jewish Community Council, and the Virginia Zoological and Aquarium Society.
[MG 78]
MG 31 Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview Amusement Parks Collection circa 1919-1991. 14 document cases, 8 oversize boxes, 2 map drawers, 1 archival tube.
This collection includes correspondence, legal documents, financial papers, printed material, scrapbooks, and photographs, primarily relating to the operation of Ocean View Amusement Park. See Oral History with Dudley Cooper.
MG 38 Lawrence M. Cox, 1902-2002, undated. 214 Hollinger document cases, 13 oversize boxes, 1 poster tube.
Served twenty-eight years as the Executive Director of the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority (NHRA) and, thereafter, as Assistant Secretary for Renewal and Housing Assistance in the Department of Housing and Urban Development during Nixon‘ s administration. From 1971, he served as consultant to urban development, planning, and housing bodies at the international, national, state, and local levels. Consists of the records accumulated during his service as Executive Director of the Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority. Includes correspondence, speeches, press releases, reports, legislation, mailing lists, photographs, newspapers, newspaper clippings and magazines. Documents Norfolk‘s urban redevelopment and contains information on housing in Norfolk during World War II. Of note are the files on the Joint Congressional Committee Investigating Housing and the Committee for Slum Clearance.
MG 45 W. Fred Duckworth Papers, circa 1940-1970. 2 Hollinger document cases, 1 Hollinger box, 13 oversize boxes.
Mayor of Norfolk (1950-1962). Collection consists of memorabilia, photographs, scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, and artifacts relating to his political, business and civic activities.
MG 95 Elizabeth Calvert Page Dabney Papers, 1812-1943. 1 Hollinger box and 1 Hollinger document case.
This collection contains diaries, personal accounts, certificates, proceedings, receipts, literary magazines, and newspapers documenting the family history of Ms. Dabney. Notable are the diaries of Agnes Knox Gordon recounting her journey from England to Virginia and Camilla Frances Loyall describing the occupation of Norfolk during the Civil War, and the wartime accounts of Captain William C. Whittle, first with the U.S. Navy and then on the Confederate steamers, the "Shenandoah" and the "Nashville."
MG 50 Finlay Forbes Ferguson Papers, 1812-1975. 1 Hollinger document case and 1 oversize box.
Collection primarily consists of genealogical material relating to Ferguson's numerous descendants. Also, contains material relating to the restoration of the Willoughby-Baylor House, the Moses Myers House, and the Adam Thoroughgood House. Of special interest is correspondence concerning New York Life Insurance Company's payment of insurance claims after intercourse between the United States and Confederate States was declared unlawful in 1861.
MG 89 1907 Jamestown Exposition, St. Paul's Episcopal Church Papers, 1907-1908. 1 Hollinger document case.
Consists of 21 photographs (14 mounted for exhibit purposes) that depict the Jamestown Exposition of 1907, the tercentennial of the settlement at Jamestown in 1607. The tercentennial was held in Norfolk, Virginia on land that is now part of the Norfolk Naval Base.
MG 73 Zelda J. Miller Papers, circa 1936-1961, undated. 1 Hollinger document case.
Zelda J. Miller was a teacher at Robert E. Lee School in Norfolk, Virginia during the 1950's and 1960's. The material consists entirely of historical and civic information about the Hampton Roads area, historical figures, and local industries. A particular emphasis is on the Virginia colonies and early settlers.
MG 66 Norfolk Museum of Natural History Papers, undated. 1 Hollinger document box.
Includes 144 photographs that depict the museum's exhibits, staff, special functions, and activities.
MG 69 Norfolk 1919 Photograph Collection, 1919. 1 clamshell box.
A portfolio of 46 prints that depict small shop owners and employees of businesses in Norfolk, Virginia in 1919. Also, includes a study written by Dr. Peter Stewart, an Old Dominion University History Professor and local historian, that examines what Norfolk was like in 1919. This study is located in the collection's control folder. See digital collection.
MG 92 Norfolk Public Schools Desegregation Papers, circa 1922-2008, undated
This collection dating from 1922-2006, contains correspondence, memorandum, depositions, court orders, recollections, statistical testing data, printed material, artifacts, and maps. The bulk of the collection provides a glimpse into the decisions made by the School Board through court documentation and the public sentiment during the integration process in Norfolk.
MG 30 Eloise Word Skewis Papers, 1777-1907. 1 Hollinger document case, 1 oversize box, 1 tubular poster container.
This collection includes correspondence, newspaper clippings, receipts, statement of accounts, currency, bonds, and indentures. Of note is genealogical material that relate to the Claiborne and Kilby families of Virginia.
MG 44 Bertha Fanning Taylor Papers, 1915-1979. 3 Hollinger document cases.
Came to Norfolk in 1945 as Curator of the Sloane Collection at the Heritage Foundation Museum. Taught art courses at the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary until 1951. Includes literary productions, printed materials, correspondence, photographs, memorabilia, scrapbooks, and charts. A wealth of information in art and art forms is available in the collection. In addition to the artistic significance of the papers, the collection documents the history of Norfolk, especially in the arts.
MG 75 Calvert Walke Tazewell Papers, 1935-1994. 12 Hollinger document cases.
Retired USAF Lt. Col., author, publisher, local historian. The collection includes papers from Tazewell's years as President of the Norfolk Historical Society and Virginia History Federation. Also included is information on the Boush-Tazewell-Waller House and papers of Philip Brower, former archivist of the MacArthur Memorial in Norfolk. Brower's papers include research on General Douglas MacArthur, personal papers and papers regarding the MacArthur Memorial Archives.
MG 91 Tidewater History Collection, 1781-2008, undated. 3 Hollinger document cases and 2 oversize boxes.
Consists of newspaper clippings, whole newspapers, magazines, and pamphlets related to Hampton Roads facts, history, events, government, culture and the military, with emphasis on the city of Norfolk.
MG 36 Norfolk United Community Fund Papers, 1923-1970. 6 Hollinger document cases and 5 oversize boxes.
The papers of the Norfolk United Community Fund date from 1923 to 1970. The collection contains information about the business of the group, budget and finances, member agencies, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and fundraising campaigns.
RG 2-1B1 Webb Family Papers (1790-1975). 11 Hollinger document cases.
Donated by Lewis W. Webb, Jr., the collection contains documents from the early records of the Borough of Norfolk (1790-1823), the Gosport Navy Yard (1829-1870), the Webb Family (1831-1883), 19th century commercial ventures, and the Electricity Cost Commission (1975).

Additional resources from the ODU Digital Collections:

Ocean View, Seaside, and Seaview Amusement Parks Collection

Civic Groups

MG 72 The League of Women Voters of Hampton Roads Records, 1956-2002. 32 Hollinger document cases and 2 oversize boxes
The papers of the League of Women Voters (LWV) of Hampton Roads date from 1956 to 2002. The collection includes information about the business and organization of the group, finances, correspondence, newspaper clippings, newsletters, projects, programs, and studies. The great bulk of this collection falls under three main categories: 1) meeting agendas and minutes, 2) the Voter's Service program, and 3) studies and publications produced by the organization.
MG 77 Norfolk Forum Papers, 1930-2008, undated. 17 Hollinger document cases, 11 photograph boxes, 1 VHS tape box, and 1 mini-audiocassette box.
The Papers of the Norfolk Forum date from the early 1930's to the present time. Accessions to the collection are received on a regular basis from the Norfolk Forum Historian. The collection contains information about the business of the group, its history, and the numerous speakers sponsored by the Forum. Included are information on the Forum's membership, board of directors, correspondence, committees, policies, calendars and season programs, tickets, brochures, news clippings, and speaker biographies. Also included are audiotapes and videotapes of Forum oral history interviews and select speakers, and numerous photos of various speakers and receptions.
MG 36 Norfolk United Community Fund Papers, 1923-1970. 6 Hollinger document cases and 5 oversize boxes.
The papers of the Norfolk United Community Fund date from 1923 to 1970. The collection contains information about the business of the group, budget and finances, member agencies, correspondence, newspaper clippings, and fundraising campaigns.
MG 65 World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads Papers, 1968-2008. 44 Hollinger document cases and 2 half Hollinger document cases.
The papers of the World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads date from 1968 to 2008. The collection contains organizational and business related material, event flyers and programs, membership information, correspondence, and some photos. Items related to sister and parent organizations, including correspondence and event materials, are included.

Teaching with Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections & University Archives

Introduction

Local History Collections

Civic Groups

Other Local History Sites