This is the "Home" page of the "University Archives by Subject" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University Archives by Subject  

Last Updated: May 13, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.odu.edu/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

The University Archives serve as the corporate memory of Old Dominion University. Its principal function is to provide a secure repository for the university's historically significant records, including the records of the Board of Visitors; the office files of former presidents, vice-presidents, deans and department chairpersons; and collections of personal papers donated by faculty, administrative officers and members of the Board.

Dating from 1930 to the present, the University Archives contains administrative publications, including yearbooks, handbooks, course catalogs, schedules, directories, and annual reports. Departmental papers include newsletters, brochures, some faculty publications and athletic programs.

In addition, the Archives includes student, faculty, staff and alumni publications; a scrapbook collection of newspaper clippings related to the university; a photograph collection that provides a fascinating panorama of the school's history; an oral history collection featuring transcripts and/or audio recordings of interviews with members of the university community; and a copy of nearly every doctoral dissertation and master's thesis written by an Old Dominion University graduate student.

The collections may be used by present officers of the university, faculty, staff, students, alumni and the general public.

The University Archives is located within Special Collections in the Old Dominion University Perry Library.

 

Call Ahead!!

Researchers are urged to call ahead because permission from the University Librarian may be required to look through some of the material, and not all of the materials are listed here.  For more information: (757) 683-4483 or libspecialcollections [at] odu.edu.

 

Donating and Transferring Your Papers to the University Archives

Faculty and staff are encouraged to donate their papers to the University Archives for the benefit of future researchers. The Special Collections Librarian can advise individuals in preparing their personal papers for transfer, completing a deed of gift, and arranging the physical transfer of the papers.  Further information is available in the University Archives Collection Development Policy and by contacting the Special Collections Librarian (757) 683-4483 or libspecialcollections [at] odu.edu.

 

How are Special Collections and University Archives organized?

In addition to books, Special Collections and University Archives contain manuscript collections, material donated by one person or group. Papers within each collection are organized into subjects or series and then arranged chronologically or alphabetically. Finding aids, available on our website or in the Special Collections Reading Room, explain how each collection is organized.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip