LibGuides: Writing Studies & Rhetoric: Articles

Academic Scholarly Databases

Education Source
1929 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts
1973 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Abstracts all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.
Humanities International Complete
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Business Source Complete
1886 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Academic Search Complete
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.

Citation Databases

Citation searching is a way to find articles that have cited a previously published work. It allows you to follow a particular article, or author, forward in time to find more current articles that have also cited that work or author. (See Research Impact and Metrics guide for Cited Reference Searching.)

Google Scholar and many of the library's databases allow citation searching. Web of Science includes three major citation databases: Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Search them simultaneously or individually.

Web of Science
Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.

Journal Collections

The following are large collections of electronic journals, many of which focus on writing and composition studies. Keep in mind that the journals you find in these collections may also be available through the databases listed above. The databases will include many more journals than what are in the collections below.

JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Project Muse
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Project MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
ScienceDirect
As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.