LibGuides: Government Information: State, County, and Local

Virginia State Government

Commonwealth of Virginia
Official website of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Virginia Legislative Information System

Virginia Legislative Information System
Legislative bill tracking, searchable Virginia code and regulations, information on the state budget, etc.

How to Find your State Representatives
Enter your address into the "Find My Legislator?" search box.

Contact your Senator or Representative

- By Telephone
  When the General Assembly is in session, you may also call a toll-free telephone message center to express your opinion on a legislative issue. Call the Constituent Viewpoint operators at (202) 224-3121 (outside Richmond) or 698-1990 to express your opinion. Messages will be forwarded to the appropriate Member.

- By email

- By mail to the District Office Address

- By mail to the Capitol Office Address
  Address your letter to: The Honorable (Delegate/Senator's First and Last Name)

Other Virginia State Government Resources

Code of Virginia
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Virginia Administrative Code
Provides a searchable database of state agency rules and regulations. It is divided into 24 titles, and then agencies, chapters, and sections. Regulations initially appear in The Virginia Register of Regulations.
Virginia Register of Regulations
Contains the text of proposed and final regulations, as well as supporting information for each proposed regulation. Also includes emergency regulations, Governor's executive orders, notices of public hearings and open meetings of state agencies, and more.
Virginia's Regulatory Town Hall
Provides means to find regulations, track proposed changes, view meeting information, and submit on-line comments about regulatory changes.
U.S. Census Bureau Quickfacts: Virginia
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Virginia Economic Development Partnership
Provides a wealth of information for starting a business in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Virginia Public Access Project
Provides a database of official public records listing contributions and expenditures reported by state candidates and political party committees.
Virginia Standards of Learning
Includes SOLs for all subjects and grade levels from the Virginia Department of Education, Division of Instruction. Also includes instructional materials to support the SOLs.
Virginia State Documents
Virginia State Documents is a list of publications currently in print and available to the public from agencies of the Commonwealth of Virginia. It is compiled from reports submitted to the Library of Virginia by agencies, departments, divisions, and institutions or branches of the state government.
Virginia's Judicial System
Case status and information for the Virginia Supreme Court, District Court of Appeals, Circuit Court, General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court.
Pew Charitable Trusts
State and consumer initiatives