Government Information

Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Provides estimates that illuminate key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy.

Provides statistics and full text reports on crime, victims, offenders, law enforcement, courts and corrections.

Provides national, state and individual agency crime statistics collected from nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States. Includes crime rates, hate crimes and arrests, as well as statistics on law enforcement employment and officers killed and assaulted.

Contains data from more than 100 sources, displayed in over 600 tables, about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States.

Provides essential statistical data in the broad field of labor,including employment and unemployment, wages, inflation and consumer spending, productivity, safety and health, and business costs.

Discloses campaign finance information, enforces the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and oversees the public funding of Presidential elections.

Created by St. Louis Federal Reserve District, FRED provides historical U.S. economic and financial data, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments and regional economic data.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

From the Centers for Disease Control

Provides timely, relevant, and quality data about the people and economy of the United States.

Contains data from the Economic Census, which profiles the US economy every 5 years, from the national to the local level. Links to data and reports for specific sectors.