LibGuides: Music: Books

Monarch OneSearch

Visit the library homepage at odu.edu/library to find Monarch OneSearch. Monarch OneSearch searches for print books, electronic books, and media owned or licensed by Old Dominion University Libraries. It also searches some but not all of our databases. It's the best place to search to find out what books and ebooks the ODU Libraries own, and it can also be a good starting place to find articles.

Music Classifcation System - How to Locate Books

Call Numbers to Locate Music Resources

M Printed Music (Scores)

ML Music Literature

MT Instruction & Study

LOCATION: Books with call numbers beginning with M are shelved on the 4th floor in the compact shelving units. Perry Library Floor Maps

Browsing in any of these areas may lead to the discovery of valuable material in addition to the specific items listed in this guide.

Search Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Presents an index to dissertations-in-progress and a bibliography of completed dissertations reported since mid-1995. Includes all records previously published in earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology, still available for sale.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
1967 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.

Specialized Book Collections

The Beethoven Gateway
Formerly known as the Beethoven Bibliography Database, the Beethoven Gateway helps direct people interested in Beethoven to books, articles, scores, and other sources on the composer. Although it functions primarily as a catalog of the collections of the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies located at San Jose State University, it also serves the broader purpose of providing a comprehensive and fully-indexed bibliography of materials relating to Beethoven, from a wide range of subject areas.