Skip to main content

Music

New Music Performance Collection

Presently, the New Music Performance Collection consists of a circulating collection featuring compositions created after 1970. It will eventually focus on works composed over the last 10 years. The collection emphasizes scores for small vocal and instrumental chamber ensembles of no more than twelve parts, rather than large orchestral or symphonic works. All musical genres are collected at this time.

This Composer Resources section provides links to the most useful resources for researching subjects for composers and composition majors. Use the links on the left hand side of this page to navigate through the pages of this guide.

If you aren't finding answers to your research questions, I'd be happy to assist you.  Be sure to contact me.

New Music Performance Collection History

The New Music Performance Collection was a cooperative project of the Virginia Tidewater Consortium libraries to serve music faculty members who incorporate new music in their teaching. Participating institutions included Old Dominion University, Hampton University, Christopher Newport University, Norfolk State University, and the College of William and Mary. This project was made possible by a grant from the F. Ludwig Diehn Music Fund of the Norfolk Foundation now known as the Hampton Roads Community Foundation.

The original project consisted of archival and circulating scores of over two hundred works. Today, the New Music Performance Collection houses over 500 published scores which can circulate to the Old Dominion University community. The archival portion is now titled the Contemporary Composers Collection (CCC).

The Contemporary Composers Collection (CCC) consists of unpublished new music scores, promoting new music through performance and study. The University Libraries is actively pursuing donations.

 Materials in the CCC are suitable for performance by a variety of ensembles. 

The scores are available in the Diehn Composers Room.  Users who wish to view the unpublished scores should contact Jessica Ritchie, Head of Special Collections and University Archives at 683-4483..