It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Open Music Library is an initiative from Alexander Street to build the world’s
largest free index of digital resources for the study of music.
Curated by a community of music scholars, students, teachers and librarians, the Open Music Library brings together peer-reviewed journal articles, books and music scores from the world’s digital collections.
Find Articles with Monarch OneSearch
Visit the library homepage at odu.edu/library to find Monarch OneSearch. This is a great place to start if you're looking for some articles. For more specific research, use the databases below!
Indexes international music periodicals, covering a broad range of subjects from all aspects of classical and popular music. Includes book reviews, record reviews, first performances, obituaries, and news and articles about music, musicians, and the music industry.
RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and indexes. Publications originate from 151 countries and are in 214 languages. There are currently over 550,000 records in RILM on traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Coverage of Conference Proceedings goes back to 1835.
Indexes major journals in the arts and humanites disciplines. Search for articles by topic, author, source title, or author address. Includes Cited Reference Search that finds articles that have cited specific works by an author.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. This database includes all data from Humanities International Index plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Project MUSE provides digital humanities and social science content. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books. Project MUSE books are fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.
Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world. Each day ArtsJournal features link to stories culled from more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture.
Serves as the refereed, electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory, Inc. Includes features such as articles, book reviews and reports from a distinguished panel of International Correspondents.
Focuses on opera being produced today and its stars. Produced by the Metropolitan Opera Guild. RESTRICTED TO STUDENTS, FACULTY AND STAFF OF OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY. Contact Elizabeth Hogue for password.
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes full-text access to select journals in arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. Sixteen new journals added to ODU Libraries' subscription in 2016.
Chamber Music is the only national magazine dedicated to the art and business of small ensemble music.It's considered essential reading for everyone in the chamber music community. This is a link to the free online version of the latest four issues only.