LibGuides: Park, Recreation & Tourism Studies: Find Articles

Using Monarch OneSearch

Monarch OneSearch is the main search box on the library homepage, and is a great place to start for most topics. Start searching in Monarch OneSearch to get an idea for what research has been done on your topic, and where you might want to focus. Then move on the the databases listed below for more specific reseach. Some of the results will be duplicated between the two searches, but using both will allow you to determine which method will be best for your topic.

Sports Databases

SportBusiness
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Focuses on all aspects of business in sport, especially marketing, sponsorship and advertising. Also includes videos, news, market reports, and international sports directory, and more features.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
1800 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Offers comprehensive, bibliographic and full text coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.
Sports Market Place Directory
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides current key information about the people, organizations and events involving the explosive sports industry.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
1970 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Indexes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, and articles from the popular press, featuring a wide variety of content, ranging from physical education curricula, to sports medicine, to dance.

Psychology Databases

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
1965 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
PsycINFO
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, mostly peer-reviewed. Journal coverage includes international material in foreign languages. Check the Quick Reference Guide (PDF – Links to an external source may not be accessible) for help using the database.

Education Databases

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
1927 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development plus new coverage on Child Rights and welfare issues.
Chronicle of Higher Education, The
Current (Restricted to ODU)
The Chronicle of Higher Education has the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities. As the unrivaled leader in higher education journalism, we serve our readers with indispensable real-time news and deep insights, plus the essential tools, career opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in a rapidly changing world.
Education Source
1929 - Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
1966 - present (Unrestricted)
Provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature indexed from 1966 to the present. Also contains a growing collection of full-text materials, including reports from the What Works Clearinghouse.
International Encyclopedia of Education
2010 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Of interest to educators and researchers in education of all backgrounds. Readers will include undergraduate and postgraduate students, researchers, teachers and lecturers, and professionals. The wide coverage will make it an invaluable source of information for scholars and students inside and outside the discipline.
LearnTechLib
2000 - present (Restricted to ODU)
The premiere online resource for aggregated, peer-reviewed research on the latest developments and applications in Learning and Technology.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments on exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
Teacher Reference Center
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 270 popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.