The National Archives holds many records that are useful for genealogists, including census records, immigration documents, military records, and land records. They also offer workshops and online tools designed to help you find your ancestors.
Norfolk Public Library's Sargeant Memorial Room contains many "how to" genealogy books, private and family papers, court records, county histories, church records, ships' passenger lists, name indexes, and bibliographies.
Thomas Balch Library is a history and genealogy library owned and operated by the Town of Leesburg in Virginia. Collections focus on Loudoun County, regional and Virginia history, genealogy, military history with special emphasis on the American Civil War, and ethnic history. It is designated as an Underground Railroad research site.
The Latter-Day Saints (Mormons) have the most extensive library on genealogy in the United States. The materials of the main Family History Library in Salt Lake City can be loaned to a local Family History Center. There are significant materials from North America, British areas, Europe, and Latin America and some for other areas. A FamilySearch program is available at each Family History Center. Those individuals who have done research on their family histories can send in their research to be added to the database.
Local Family History Centers:
Virginia Beach, 4760 Princess Anne -- 757-474-1796
Chesapeake, 412 Scarborough Drive -- 757-482-9612
Newport News, 902 Denbigh Blvd. -- 757-874-2335
Richmond, 5600 Monument Avenue -- 804-288-8134
The Mariners' Museum Library contains useful information on the ships that brought many ancestors to America. Resources include photographs, ship plans of accomodation, and steamship ephemera.
This website provides access to digitized court records of Southampton County, Virginia. These records range in date from 1749 through the early 1880s.
VA-ROOTS is a discussion group sponsored by the Library of Virginia for those interested in research and writing about Virginia genealogy and family history. VA-ROOTS is an electronic forum where genealogists can share the results of research, assist newcomers to the field, inquire about the location of resources, etc.
A fee-based website, Ancestry.com has 10 billion genealogical records from across the globe and millions of family trees online to facilitate your family search.
