LibGuides: MGMT 485W: Business Policy and Strategy: Industry Profiles

NAICS Codes

North American Industry Classification - 6 digit code that classifies business establishments by their primary type activity.

Find NAICS Code by Company Name:

Mergent Online
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides access to comprehensive global company data, including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Includes access to Investext Snapshot and Mergent Analytics.
Nexis Uni
Varies (Restricted to ODU)
Lexis Nexis Academic has been up graded to Nexis Uni. Nexis Uni provides a more personalized experience, intuitive discovery, and a more collaborative research environment. Nexis Uni features news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Offers an intuitive, engaging research experience on a wide range of devices. Students can create individual user IDs and passwords to enable setting of Alerts, saving searches and bookmarking documents of interest.

Industry Snapshots

Economic Census Industry Snapshots

Industry Reports

Industry profiles provide a perspective on how the industry as a whole is structured and how it operates.

Examine external factors that affect a company.

•Industry definition

•Key companies & market share

•Industry size/segments

•Current industry performance

•Industry trends

•External factors influencing the industry: economy, etc.

IBISWorld
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides industry market intelligence that analyzes the business operating risks and opportunities of US and global industries. Contains information on competitors – and how to gain competitive advantage – barriers to entry, industry life cycle and factors such as regulation and taxation, allowing users to understand the complete business environment.
Business Source Complete
1886 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Value Line Investment Survey
1931 to Present (Restricted to ODU)
Contains a richly detailed and continuously updated compendium of current and historical market and financial data spanning thousands of U.S. companies, mutual funds and other securities, industry sectors, indices and economic variables.
ABI/INFORM Collection
1971-present (Restricted to ODU)
Comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, and key business and economics periodicals. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Market Share

Mintel
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to U.S. and international market and consumer research through reports, data, daily news articles on corporate, product and advertising activity, as well as opinions and comments from Mintel's analysts. Please create or sign-in to your Mintel Academic Personal Profile if you wish to save, download, or bookmark records. You must sign-up with your Old Dominion University e-mail address to create your Mintel Academic Personal Profile.
IBISWorld
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides industry market intelligence that analyzes the business operating risks and opportunities of US and global industries. Contains information on competitors – and how to gain competitive advantage – barriers to entry, industry life cycle and factors such as regulation and taxation, allowing users to understand the complete business environment.
Business Source Complete
1886 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides comprehensive coverage of the most important scholarly journals for all business disciplines, and author profiles. Also includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Market Share Reporter (Print Resource) by Gale Research Inc.; Gale Group.
Call Number: HF5410 .M35
Publication Date: c1991-

Industry Ratios

Industry ratios are an aggregate measure of industry performance. These are then used as a benchmarking tool in comparing a company's performance to that of its industry.

IBISWorld
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides industry market intelligence that analyzes the business operating risks and opportunities of US and global industries. Contains information on competitors – and how to gain competitive advantage – barriers to entry, industry life cycle and factors such as regulation and taxation, allowing users to understand the complete business environment.
Factiva
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides current and retrospective news stories, periodical articles, and company and industry financial data covering virtually every subject category.

RMA Annual Statement Studies (Print Resource) by Robert Morris Associates
Call Number: HF5681.B2R6
Publication Date: 1977-
Available on the 3rd floor of Perry Library.
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (Print Resource) by Leo Troy
Call Number: HF5681.R25 T68
Provides financial ratios for companies in various asset ranges by NAICS code. Data reported are based on aggregate numbers from IRS records.
Available on the 3rd floor of Perry Library.