LibGuides: Electronic Books (Ebooks) at ODU Libraries: Ebook Collections

Current Ebook Collections

Here is a sampling of other e-book collections purchased by the ODU Libraries. For more collections by subject, view the Library Guide for the subject area you are interested in.

Ebook Central
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Ebook Central, on the ProQuest platform, provides authoritative, full-text e-books in a wide range of subject areas including History, The Arts, Social Sciences, Literature & Language, Health & Medicine, Business, and Science & Technology.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Search and view the full text of eBooks in the EBSCOhost collection.

CRCnetBASE: Science, Technology, Medical eBOOKS
NOTE: E-books published by Taylor & Frances and Routledge are also searchable from this link.
Cambridge Core
Historic and Current (Restricted to ODU)
Cambridge Core is the new academic platform from Cambridge University Press. It replaces Cambridge Journals Online, Cambridge Books Online, and Cambridge Histories Online, and combines content from them all. We recommend checking the option to search Only search content I have access to for access to full-text content. (Below main search box).
Gale eBooks
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Scholarship Online
2003-Present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Offers full-text access to scholarly works from key disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, science, medicine, and law, providing quick and easy access to award-winning Oxford University Press scholarship. We recommend checking the option to search just Oxford Scholarship Online for access to full-text content.
SAGE Knowledge
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
SAGE Knowledge includes reference works, academic books, professional development titles, and more. This cross-media platform allows users to search and browse video, book, and reference titles within the Social Sciences and Education, including African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Psychology, and many other areas.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments on exclusive O'Reilly-produced content from world-renowned innovators and corporate leaders.
HathiTrust
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
The largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
ASCE Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)
Coverage varies (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards.
IOP Expanding Physics E-book Collection
Coverage varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
IOP Expanding Physics publishes high-quality texts from leading voices across the research landscape on key areas in physics and related subject areas.
ICE Virtual Library (Institution of Civil Engineers)
1836 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to the ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers) Structures and Building e-book collection and the journal Geotechnique from 2003 to present.
GeoScienceWorld eBook Collections
1926-Present (Restricted to ODU)
A nonprofit, multi-publisher eBooks platform dedicated to the study of the earth sciences.

Historical Ebook Collections

The Libraries subscribe to many historical collections online. This list is not comprehensive. For more historical ebook packages, see our Databases A-Z list or a Subject Guide.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
1470-1700 (Restricted to ODU)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
18th Century (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
19th Century (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Includes a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long 19th Century. This collection contains Archive 1: British Politics and Society; Archive 2: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; Archive 3: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; and Archive 4: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
1801-1819 (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
1801-1819 (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Open Access Ebook Collections

There are a number of free and open access ebook collections available online. Most provide limited views and full text content. They are usually books in the public domain (works where no exclusive copyright rules apply).

Directory of Open Access Books
Harvests open access eBooks, an provides an option to purchase print copies.
epubBooks
A selection of high-quality, free e-books available in both EPUB3 and Kindle book formats.
Google Books
Previews and full text of books. Full text is available for books that are out of copyright and for books that Google has permission to reproduce.
Internet Archive Books
Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books.
Open Library
Primarily a large book catalog, it is a project of the Internet Archive. It connects to scanned versions of books from the Internet Archive and connects you to other places to find the books in print.