LibGuides: HLTH 120G: Information Literacy for Health Professions: Home

Getting Started

Monarch OneSearch, the main search box on the library homepage is a great place to start with research for most topics! You can access it from our homepage, or by entering a few keywords into the search box below.

Databases

The databases linked below are the most common databases used in the Health Sciences. For a more comprehensive list, see the "Find Journal Articles" page of this guide.

Consumer Health Complete
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides full-text consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books. Also contains Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and generic drug patient education sheets from Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
1937 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Resource for searching nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL includes indexing for the contents of journals, books, dissertations, standards or practice, proceedings, and more. Provides full text access to over 750 journals, over 220 books/monographs, and contains more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1937.