LibGuides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Home

Essential Resources

ODU Libraries support the use of a browser extension called LibKey Nomad that links directly from Google Scholar, PubMed, and other databases to electronic journals ODU Libraries subscribe to. This browser extension will help you determine whether we have the journal you need and give you the link to find it. Go to this guide for the link and instructions on how to download and install LibKey Nomad.

SciFinder-n
Provides access to research in chemistry and related sciences from Chemical Abstracts Service, including the world's largest collection of substance information, the CAS REGISTRY. ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to SciFinder.
ACS Journals (American Chemical Society)
1879 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Allows full-text searching of all titles published by the ACS (American Chemical Society).
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)
Contains journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, the largest organization in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences.
PubMed
Coverage Varies (Unrestricted)
A service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to approximately 32 million citations from over 5400 biomedical journals from MEDLINE, in addition to selected life sciences journals; links to the molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI); and access to other research tools. Links to full text journals are provided when they are available.
ScienceDirect
As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.
Web of Science
Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.