LibGuides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Recommended Databases

Chemistry and Biochemistry Databases

In order to use the SciFinder-n database, ODU students, faculty and staff first must REGISTER HERE for SciFinder

SciFinder-n
Current (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to research in chemistry and related sciences from Chemical Abstracts Service, including the world's largest collection of substance information, the CAS REGISTRY. ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to the database. Helpful SciFinder-n FAQs provided at this link.
ACS Journals (American Chemical Society)
1879 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Allows full-text searching of all titles published by the ACS (American Chemical Society).
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)
Contains journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, the largest organization in Europe for advancing the chemical sciences.
PubMed
Coverage Varies (Unrestricted)
A service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It provides access to approximately 32 million citations from over 5400 biomedical journals from MEDLINE, in addition to selected life sciences journals; links to the molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI); and access to other research tools. Links to full text journals are provided when they are available.
Web of Science
Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.
BioOne COMPLETE
Coverage Varies (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
A database of over 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Chemoreception Abstracts
1982 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Indexes the research relating to the neurobiology, chemistry, and physiology of taste, smell, internal chemoreception, and chemotaxis, including coverage of such vital areas as signal transduction, receptors, channels and neurogenetics.

Science Databases

ScienceDirect
As of 01/01/21 our subscription has changed.
Our ScienceDirect journal subscriptions have changed as of January 2021. List of our current Elsevier ScienceDirect journal subscriptions are located at this link.
Web of Science
Coverage varies by Index (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title.
TOXLINE
1999 - Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Abstracts journal articles, monographs, technical reports, and more on toxicology, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Produced by the National Library of Medicine from files including Toxicity Bibliography and Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology. (Contains no information from Chemical Abstracts Service, BIOSIS, or International Pharmaceutical Abstracts.) A rolling 5-year database, consisting of records from the last 5 years plus the current year.
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Contains scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.

Science.gov
Locate authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Searches across the DOE, DOD, NASA, and EPA databases that were previously covered by the GrayLit Network, plus many more.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.
Academic Search Complete
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.