LibGuides: Images, Audio, Video: Find Video

Searching for Videos

All of the libraries video resources -- whether DVDs at the Help Desk on the 1st floor of Perry Library or streaming video from library databases -- are available through our online catalog.

Search Monarch OneSearch by title, actor, director, etc. In "Resource Type," limit to "Audio Visual."

Visit the library homepage at odu.edu/library to find Monarch OneSearch.

DVD Collection

The Libraries have a DVD collection of feature films and documentaries with over 1,000 titles. The majority of the DVDs are available at the Help Desk in Perry Library for checkout.

The loan period for films is one week.
You may check out up to three films at a time.

Use Monarch OneSearch, and search by film title, actor, director, etc.
Limit your search to "Audio Visual" as the "Material Type."

ODU Libraries Databases

Kanopy
Kanopy is a streaming service which partners with libraries and universities to provide commercial-free culturally enriching films and movies. Beginning in summer 2020, all Kanopy film titles will require a faculty request for access and approval by ODU Libraries. Once approved, the film will be available for viewing to everyone in the ODU community.
Films on Demand
Provides access to films in the humanities and social sciences, science and mathematics, health and medicine, technical education, and guidance and counseling.
Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
BBC Shakespeare Plays
This series is regarded as the canon against which other Shakespeare performances on film are measured and compared. Thirty-seven plays are chaptered by acts and feature some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. These video clips are an ideal choice for libraries, and literature classes.
Black Studies in Video
Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Classical Performance in Video
Contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collection provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Dance in Video
Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
Digital Theatre Plus
A leading educational platform for the performing arts. Provides access to full-length productions and educational resources. If using older versions of Google Chrome after 6th December 2022, your browser will no longer be able to decrypt media content on our platform and you will not be able to watch it.
Docuseek
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.
Filmmakers Library Online
Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
Medici.TV EDU with Jazz Plus
The world's leading classical music channel, Medici.tv including Jazz Plus has offered access to the best of classical music to viewers worldwide since 2008. Medici.tv including Jazz Plus features concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, artist portraits, educational programs, master classes, and the greatest jazz programs of yesterday and today.
Music & Performing Arts
Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.
Silent Film Online
Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
Theatre in Video
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. These actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience, cover a wide range of 20th century theatre history and represent hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
American History in Video
Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Psychotherapy.net
Videos are designed to improve the clinical skills of mental health professionals. Features experts in session with real clients, and step-by-step explanations of their interventions. Students can see theory being put into action, bridging the gap between learning about therapy and actually providing therapy.
OntheBoards.tv
A portal for viewing full-length, high-quality performance films on your TV, desktop, or laptop. Provides access to works by the leading voices from the field of contemporary performance.

Linking to Videos in Databases

Films on Demand

To link to a full video: Once you find a video, open the full page. Find the TITLE URL at the bottom of the page. Copy and paste the link into your presentation or course Blackboard web page.
To link to a video segment: find the segments listed on the right of the video window, and click one. Find the SEGMENT URL at the bottom of the page. Copy and paste the link into your presentation or course Blackboard page.
To connect to the films/segments from offcampus, the following prefix should come before the Films on Demand url:
- http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=

Alexander Street Press Videos

To link to videos: Once you identify a video, click on the "Embed/Link" icon at the top of the video playback display. A new window will open displaying a persistent URL and an embed code for the video. Copy and paste into your presentation or course Blackboard web page.
To connect to the films/segments from offcampus, the following prefix should come before the Alexander Street Press url:
- http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=

example: http://proxy.lib.odu.edu/login?url=https://video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/behavioral-counseling-and-psychotherapy

You may notice that there is also an option to embed the video.

Open Web

These are a few of the video sources on the open Web. Remember to always read the Terms of Use and be sure you are not violating copyright.

YouTube
Be aware that YouTube videos may disappear, primarily because of copyright violations. See below for instructions on embedding YouTube video into Powerpoinst
Creative Commons Video
Search videos licensed under Creative Commons licenses.
Wikimedia Commons
"A database of 10,265,274 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute." Provides public domain and freely-licensed content -- also includes images and sound clips.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Internet Archive's library of free movies, films, animations, and videos. Look for the Creative Commons License to see if/how you can use the media.
Footage.net
Fee-based collection of stock and news footage.
PBS Video
Various selections of video from PBS programs, such as Frontline.

Images, Audio, Video

University Film Screen Policy

Monarch Movies (for students residing in University housing)

PBS Videso