LibGuides: PSYC 895: Topics in Organizational Psychology: Statistics

General Government Sources

Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
1878 - present (Restricted to ODU)
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, and image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables.
Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition
Colonial times - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to over 37,000 data series from the revised and expanded Historical Statistics of the United States, covering topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America. Users can graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets.

Business, Economy, People, and Labor

Bureau of Labor Statistics (US) Data Page
Contains U.S. federal government data in the broad field of labor economics.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides estimates that illuminate key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy.

U.S. Census Bureau
Provides timely, relevant, and quality data about the people and economy of the United States.

Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistics and full text reports on crime, victims, offenders, law enforcement, courts, and corrections.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Provides national, state, and individual agency crime statistics collected from nearly 17,000 law enforcement agencies across the United States.

Education

National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Virginia Department of Education
The VDOE website includes statistics & reports, school report cards, links to individual school division web sites, and more.

Health

National Center for Health Statistics
The nation's principle health statistics agency compiles information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the people.
NNLM Dataset Catalog
"The Dataset Catalog is a catalog of biomedical datasets from various repositories for users to search, discover, retrieve, and connect with datasets to accelerate scientific research. This beta version aims to collect user feedback to inform future product development."
Center for Clinical Observational Investigations (CCOI) Dataset Profiles
"Dataset Profiles are one method CCOI uses to reduce barriers to accessing large-scale clinical datasets. Dataset Profiles highlight, summarize and aggregate information about and within a dataset. Each profile provides key details to help researchers to understand the information provided in a dataset."

Data Archives and Repositories

Specific repositories that store, archive, and make data available are shown below:

Dryad Digital Repository
The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable. Dryad provides a general-purpose home for a wide diversity of datatypes.
figshare
figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner. Limit your search by type to "Dataset."
ICPSR-- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Historic and current. (Access restricted to ODU)
Zenodo
Zenodo is a digital repository for research across all fields of science. Limit to "Dataset."

International Sources

International Financial Statistics
1948 - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides a complete library of continuously updated international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

NationMaster.com
Allows users to generate graphs based on numerical data extracted from the CIA Factbook.
UN Data
From the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), this is an internet based data service that brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point.
OECD Data Explorer
The Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) was established in 1961 with 38 current members. In 2014 the organization began making its data more easily accessible, and has adopted an open-access information model.

Searching Tips

Google or other search engines can be a good place to start for finding data and statistics. You can find government, organization, and business sites with data available.

Search Tips:

Within your search statement, include (statistics OR data).
To search for government, organization, or educational sites, include -site:.gov, site:.org, or site:.edu

Example: "global warming" (statistics OR data) site:.gov

You can also use the Advanced Search option to fill in these terms and limiters.

Many journals also support the inclusion of a data availability statement within research articles, which is a statement about the data used in the publication and where and/or how that data can be accessed.

For example, in addition to a Data Availability Statement, PLOS journals have started a pilot project to highlight articles that have submitted associated data to a selected repository. These articles are designated with an "Accessible Data" icon and a link to the associated dataset.