LibGuides: Education (Teaching & Learning): Data, Stats & Tests

Finding Statistics, Data, and Tests

Statistics and data are important in the field of education. Whether you need it for your research, to practice with data sets, or for grant applications, the links on this page are great places to begin for finding data and statistics.

National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
ICPSR-- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Historic and current. (Access restricted to ODU)
American FactFinder
Contains population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the Decennial Census, Economic Census, American Community Survey (ACS), and Population Estimates Program of the U.S. Census Bureau.

Find Tests and Measurements

Finding full-text to tests is not always easy, especially if you are looking for a published test. Here are some resources that will help you get started!

PsycTESTS
1896 to present (Restricted to ODU)
Is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
1985 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print includes timely, consumer-oriented test reviews that provide evaluative information to promote and encourage informed test selection. There is a limit of 4 simultaneous users on this database.
Dissertations & Theses Global
1743 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.