LibGuides: Women's & Gender Studies: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Databases allow you find articles on your topic. Articles often focus on one specific aspect of a topic, and they are generally published in periodicals—publications including peer-reviewed and scholarly journals, as well as popular magazines, trade publications, and newspapers.

Women's Studies - Academic/Scholarly Databases

Women's Studies International
1972 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Includes: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature.
Gender Studies
1972 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues, providing the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
LGBT Thought and Culture
20th Century - Present (Restricted to ODU)
Documents LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s to present, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.

Related Disciplines

Academic Search Complete
1887 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.
America: History and Life with Full Text
1955 - present (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for journals from 1955 to the present, this database is the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.

Open Access

Directory of Open Access Journals
Coverage varies by journal (ODU/VIVA/Unrestricted)
Provides free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, aiming to cover all subjects and languages. There are a growing number of journals in the directory, with many of them searchable on article level.

Newspaper Collections

Newspaper Source Plus
Current (Restricted to VIVA/ODU)
Provides access to national and international newspapers, many cover-to-cover full-text. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, National Public Radio (NPR), etc.
NewsBank
Coverage varies by database (Restricted to ODU)
Provides access to America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922), American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900), American State Papers (1789-1838), U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980), Foreign Broadcast Information Service (1974-1996), and Access World News. Also highlights major news events with special reports collections with news, maps, etc. Allows a maximum of 14 users at a time.
New York Times w/ Index
1851 - 2015 (Restricted to ODU)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Virginian Pilot Historical Archive
1865 – 1990 (Restricted to ODU)
The Virginian-Pilot (Norfolk, VA) archive contains fully searchable scanned page images from microfilm for The Virginian-Pilot (1865 - 1989). Content can also be accessed from Access World News.
Norfolk Journal and Guide
1916 - 2003 (Restricted to ODU)
Under the leadership of P.B. Young, the "Dean of the Negro Press", The Norfolk Journal and Guide became one of the best researched and written newspapers of its era, with a circulation of more than 80,000 by the 1940s. It argued against restrictive covenants, rallied against lynching, encouraged blacks to vote, supported improvements to city streets and water systems, and more.
Access World News
1996 - present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides unique coverage of local and regional newspapers, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues.