Music

Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.

Provides a comprehensive database of distinguished classical recordings, from Medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde. There are multiple versions of licensed works to enable comparative listening. The audio selections are cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

Provides a definitive source of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music, including country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. It includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys, as well as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.

Provides the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Artists range from past greats to musicians performing and recording today. Liner notes to all the albums are included (in PDF format) as well as static URLs to each track and album in the database.

Contains sounds of all regions from every continent, such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat, but also includes other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. It is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.

Includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of other legendary labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent. It is an educational resource that delivers the world's diverse cultural expressions in an informative way via digital media.

Contains performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

The world's leading classical music channel, Medici.tv including Jazz Plus has offered access to the best of classical music to viewers worldwide since 2008. Medici.tv including Jazz Plus features concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, artist portraits, educational programs, master classes, and the greatest jazz programs of yesterday and today.

Brings together films which together represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.

Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video. These actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience, cover a wide range of 20th century theatre history and represent hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers more than 66,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film and more. AVON includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage. Users will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy, Emmy, and Peabody winners as well as the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

Kanopy is a streaming service which partners with libraries and universities to provide commercial-free culturally enriching films and movies. Beginning in summer 2020, all Kanopy film titles will require a faculty request for access and approval by ODU Libraries. Once approved, the film will be available for viewing to everyone in the ODU community.

Provides access to films in the humanities and social sciences, science and mathematics, health and medicine, technical education, and guidance and counseling.

Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum - race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films, providing exclusive access to content from renowned leaders in documentary film distribution.

Provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.

Features award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.