LibGuides: Images, Audio, Video: Find Images

ODU Libraries Databases

JSTOR
Coverage varies by journal (Restricted to ODU)

Artstor is now part of the JSTOR platform. (As of August 1, 2024.)

Provides a scholarly journal archive for full-text journals through the following collections: Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, and Life Sciences. The JSTOR Arts and Sciences I-IV, X Collections are funded through the generous support of the Friends of the Library.

For the most part, images from the following library databases may be used for educational and research purposes if properly credited.

OAIster
Coverage varies (Restricted VIVA/ODU)
A union catalog of digital resources, including items such as digitized (i.e., scanned) books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files (e.g., wav, mp3), images (e.g., tiff, gif), movies (e.g., mp4, quicktime), and datasets (e.g., downloadable statistics files). OAIster provides access to these digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting).

Many of our historical databases contain images that can be used according to fair use (e.g., American Broadsides and Ephemera, HarpWeek).

Some of our article databases include images that you can use for non-commercial, educational purposes. Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) is just one example. Always read the terms of use.

Academic Search Complete
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with full-text and peer-reviewed journals as well as indexing and abstracts for monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887 and searchable cited references for nearly 1,000 journals.

Open Web

These are a few of the image sources on the open web. Remember to always read the Terms of Use and be sure you are not violating copyright.

Google Images
Under TOOLS, use the dropdown list at "Usage Rights" to select "reuse" options.
Flickr: Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their photographs/images for use by others under a Creative Commons license. You can browse or search through content under each type of license.
Pixaby
Over 4.5 million+ high quality stock images, videos and music. Search, look at the usage details, download, attribute.
Wikimedia Commons: Images
Library of Congress Digital Collections
From the Library of Congress, audio recordings relate to the history and culture of the United States. Includes folk music, slave narratives, oral histories, speeches, and more
Digital Public Library of America
A growing collection of millions of digitized materials (images, audio, video, text) from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience. Users can limit by copyright status, among other filters, and guidelines are provided.
Public Domain Images
"Public domain images are top quality, high resolution (up to 20 mega pixels). All images are copyright friendly - safe images, not copyrighted, no restriction for their use, no rights reserved."
Smithsonian Collection Images: Disability
Over 5300 collection images from the Smithsonian regarding disability. The open access media box will reload 264 images using a Creative Commons license.
Everystockphoto.com
"Everystockphoto.com is a license-specific photo search engine. Currently we index and search millions of freely licensed photos, from many sources, and present them in an integrated search." Includes images from flickr, Wikimedia Commons, morgueFile, and more, with links to original locations. Advanced search allows you to search only the sites you specify.
Disabled and Here
Photo and interview series celebrating disabled Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC).