LibGuides: Graduate Research in the Sciences: Citing Sources

It is important to cite the sources of your research. The citation style often depends on the academic discipline involved. There are several accepted citation styles/formats for research papers in each of the sciences. For general guidance, see the ODU Libraries guide to citing sources (linked below). If you're unsure, ask your professor which style s/he prefers. If preparing a manuscript for submission to a specific journal, consult the journal's guidelines for formatting and style.

Cite Your Sources
ODU Libraries extensive guide to citing sources.

Citation Management Software

EndNote
EndNote is a powerful tool for acquiring, organizing, and managing references. Download the software at the link provided in this guide. It is free to ODU students, staff, and faculty.
Zotero
Zotero is a free reference manager and a Mozilla browser plugin.

Citation Styles by Subject

Biology:

Council of Science Educators (CSE)

Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (7th Ed.) by Council of Science Editors. Style Manual Committee.
Call Number: T11 .S386 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers is a detailed and authoritative manual recommending both general and scientific publication style and format for scientific papers, journal articles, books, and other forms of publication.

Chemistry:

American Chemical Society (ACS)

The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information (3rd ed.). by Coghill, Anne M.; Garson, Lorrin R.; American Chemical Society.
Call Number: QD8.5 .A25 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Available in print and e-book format.

The ACS Style Guide: Table of Contents
Each chapter of the guide is available for viewing or downloading as a PDF.

Computer Science:

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

ACM Citation Style and Reference Formats
Accessible Computer Science Research Guide (Dalhousie University Libraries)
Includes examples for ACM, APA, and IEEE.

IEEE Computer Society Resources

IEEE General Resources

IEEE Author Center

Mathematics:

American Mathematical Society (AMS)

AMS Author Resource Center
Contains information and tools for authors to prepare their work for publication.

Chicago Manual of Style Online
1891-present (Restricted to ODU)
Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age. Now offering the full contents of the 16th and 15th editions, it is the must-have reference for everyone who works with words.

Purdue OWL: Chicago Manual of Style
The Online Writing Lab at Purdue has provided an extensive guide to Chicago formatting and style, which includes citation style and offers many examples.

Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences:

American Geophysical Union (AGU)

AGU Author Resources
Contains links to information about AGU publications, including specific journal policies and guidance on how to prepare a submission.

American Meteorological Society (AMS)

Overview of the Manuscript Publication Process
Contains information on preparing manuscripts for submission, including formatting and manuscript components.
References
Provides a list of the most common reference types, including journal, book, chapter in a book, dissertation, report, and web page.

Physics:

American Institute of Physics (AIP)

AIP Publishing: Author Resource Center
Provides guidelines for preparing and submitting manuscripts for publication.

Psychology:

American Psychological Association (APA)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. by American Psychological Association.
Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 1433805618
Publication Date: 2010
Print copies available in Reference, Reserves, and the general collection (3rd floor).

APA Style
From the American Psychological Association, this site contains an FAQ, quick answers for formatting and references, free tutorials, a blog, and other helpful learning resources.
Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide
Developed by Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL), this resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.