ICPSR is a great place to find data sets for your research, learning, and teaching. It maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It also provides teaching tools such as exercises and resources for students & teachers.
To search for data in ICPSR, simply type a topic into the search box (broad topics work best). You can also browse by topic.
After you have your results, you can limit by data format, restriction type, and more.
PRO TIP: If you are searching for data sets for use for a class assignment, select "Public Use" for your restriction type. This will enable you to access the files that you need in specific formats (for example, SPSS).
Provides access to a vast archive of social science data. ICPSR's data holdings are for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. A unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, ICPSR has over 640 member colleges and universities around the world. First time users must create an account.
Data Citation Index is part of the Web of Science database, and provides access to data sets and studies from a wide range of disciplines.
If you are only looking for Data Sets, you can limit your search to data sets by using the "Document Types" limiter on the left-hand side of the screen.
Provides access to Science Citation Index 1900-Present, Social Sciences Citation Index 1900-Present, Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present, and Journal Citation Reports (JCR). Perform cited reference searches by author, work, year, volume, issue, page, and title. A new, updated version of the Web of Science platform is coming soon. A preview of it can be found by going to the top right corner of the search screen or clicking here.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) provides data from surveys conducted annually in excel format. It is useful for finding statistics on broader topics, and for finding data sets for in-class use.