Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections & Archives Guide

Learn how to access, use and experiment with primary resources in the learning laboratory!

Donating to Our Collections

Donations of ODU-related materials
If you would like to donate materials related to ODU history or records created by ODU for permanent retention, email the University Archivist Steven Bookman: sbookman@odu.edu. 

Donations of rare books and materials documenting local, regional, and national history
Donations of books, manuscripts, archival materials and other items significantly contribute to teaching, learning, and research excellence of ODU. Many collections were established as gifts from generous alumni, faculty members and donors. A determination of whether a prospective gift enhances the value of our holdings for research, teaching and creative expression requires careful review. Staff members consider a variety of factors including, collection history, condition and existing collections strength and priorities. Our collections development strategy is also guided by our Diversity Statement.

Some helpful, general sources of information about rare books, archives and manuscript collections can be found in the Society of American Archivists’ brochures: "A Guide to Donating Your Personal or Family Papers to a Repository" and "A Guide to Donating Your Organizational Records to a Repository" and the Association of Collection Research Libraries’ “Your Old Books.”

For questions or to discuss potential gifts of materials, please contact us at libspecialcollections@odu.edu

Donating to the Special Collections and University Archives Fund

Special Collections and Archives Fund helps us preserve and make accessible primary-source materials of historical importance to the university, region, state, and nation. Please contact libspecialcollections@odu.edu for more information about making a donation.