The Libraries' Special Collections and University Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to unique primary sources, archives, and rare books documenting the history of ODU, the Coastal Virginia Region, and beyond.
Special collections and archives are for everyone! Our diverse and inclusive collections cover a wide range of topics that enrich scholarly opportunities, and we welcome students, faculty, staff, community members, and researchers from all over the world to use our collections and services.
Contact Special Collections and University Archives, we are here to help you find exactly what you need. Email us at: firstname.lastname@example.org
Old Dominion University Special Collections & University Archives is dedicated to providing a welcoming environment for students, faculty, staff, and community members where the principles of equity, diversity, and inclusion are fully embraced. We define these principles as follows:
Equity – Coming together without prejudice to develop policies and practices which guarantee justice, fairness, equal opportunity and equal access for every individual.
Diversity – Understanding and respecting that every individual brings a unique set of experiences, and this is reflected in our staff, collections, exhibits, services, and spaces.
Inclusion – Striving to make the University Libraries a place where differences are welcomed, different perspectives are respectfully heard and where every person feels a sense of belonging.
Special Collections & University Archives will demonstrate our commitment to these principles by increasing access, eliminating barriers, creating reflective metadata, working objectively with materials and with empathy for their creators, and providing a space where the Monarch mission of understanding and active learning is supported.