Music Special Collections is part of Old Dominion University Libraries - Special Collections & University Archives. We are located in the Diehn Composers Room, which houses a unique collection of documents pertaining to contemporary composers, conductors, and musicians.
Primary & Secondary Sources – Seeking to collect primary and secondary sources of enduring value containing substantial informational content that pertains to select subject areas within the defined musical scope. All materials are acquired with the intention that they will encourage new original research and support any level of performance programming or individual memory, all while furthering Old Dominion University’s educational mission.
Original Content Creators – Music Special Collections collect unique manuscript documents and scores of high informational value created by Southeastern Virginians in the performing arts. Of particular interest are manuscript materials created by authors, musical organizations, choreographers, composers, performers, notable educators, band conductors, and high-profile critics.
Material Types – Formats accepted by Music Special Collections are the following: official records, scholarly works, photographs, slides, films, audio and video recordings, maps, artworks, artifacts and other objects that require special handling.
Rarity – Music sketches, autograph scores, composition notebooks, manuscripts, and other materials which are old, scarce or unique.
Comprehensiveness – Accumulations of materials that are individually not unique, but collectively comprise an important resource because of their relevance to a particular topic or individual.
Contemporary Music Research Collection
ODU Department of Music Student Performance Recordings
Historical Recordings Collection
Diehn Composers Room Events Collection