The collection's focus is twentieth century postwar composers and their compositions. Although it is international in scope, and has no language limitations, the collection concentrates on works of American composers. It includes manuscript scores, sound recordings of performances, personal papers, memorabilia, and related materials of twentieth century composers. There are few special collections of twentieth century music in the United States, and no other exists in Virginia.
- F. Ludwig Diehn Papers, 1907-1996 This collection contains compositions, scores, programs, and other material created by or retained by F. Ludwig Diehn, a Norfolk, Virginia composer. Of particular note are the scores, sketches, and audio recordings of Diehn's work.
- Russell Stanger Papers This collection contains scores, recordings, programs and publicity, correspondence, and other material related to world renowned conductor and composer Russell Stanger.
- Allan Blank Papers, 1958-2009 The Allan Blank Papers consist primarily of scores (mainly in manuscript and facsimile formats) and materials related directly to his significant compositions and published materials, including programs, reviews and recordings. His compositions encompass a wide range of instrumentation and format. His works include pieces for a solo instrument, full orchestra, chamber ensemble, voice, music for children, and opera. Materials in this collection also document some of Mr. Blank’s personal and professional interests.
- John Duffy Papers This collection contains scores, sketchbooks, programs, recordings and other material collected and produced by composer John Duffy.
- Frank Erickson Papers, 1923-1996 The Frank Erickson Papers includes manuscript scores of both marching and concert band pieces, as well as his musical arrangements (mainly of traditional songs and hymns). Many of the materials that he used as a teacher of band music are also available. Newspaper articles and much of his professional and personal correspondence are also part of this collection.
- Harvey Stokes Collection The collection includes correspondence, programs, publicity material, as well as newspaper articles concerning the work of composer Harvey Stokes.
- Walter Ross Collection This collection contains scores created and collected by composer Walter Ross. Included in the collection are both published and unpublished scores.
- William Stoney Papers, 1958-1996 The bulk of the materials in the William Stoney Papers represent his work as an active composer. The materials include working sketches and sketchbooks and original compositions in various points of the publishing process. Other materials included in the collection relate to Stoney’s teaching and performance activities. Additional scope and content notes providing further detail can be found at the series level.
- Vernon Perdue Davis Papers This collection contains scores, sketches, arrangements, publications, programs and other material created and collected by composer Vernon Perdue Davis.
- National Band Association William D. Revelli Memorial Band Competition Winners Collection, 1977-2008 The collection is made up of scores and recordings compiled by Matthew McCutchen. Dr. McCutchen used these winners of the William D. Revelli Memorial Band Composition Contest 1977-2008 as research for his doctoral dissertation. The National Band Association continues to add to this collection. The first page of the scores and recordings from the National Band Association William D. Revelli Memorial Band Competition Winners Collection have been digitized and can be found in the Old Dominion University Libraries Digital Collections.
