Skip to main content

Guide to Music Special Collections

Music Special Collections

Music Special Collections consist of:

  • Contemporary Music Research Collection
  • New Music Performance Collection
  • Contemporary Composers Collection
  • ODU Department of Music Student Performance Recordings
  • Historical Recordings Collection

There are Finding Aids for the majority of these collections.

There is also a finding aid for materials from the Diehn Composers Room Events Collection, 1994-2012

Contemporary Music Research Collection

The collection's focus is twentieth century postwar composers and their compositions. Although it is international in scope, and has no language limitations, the collection concentrates on works of American composers. It includes manuscript scores, sound recordings of performances, personal papers, memorabilia, and related materials of twentieth century composers. There are few special collections of twentieth century music in the United States, and no other exists in Virginia.

Allan Blank Papers, 1958-2009

Vernon Perdue Davis Papers

F. Ludwig Diehn Papers, 1907-1996

John Duffy Papers

Frank Erickson Papers, 1923-1996

National Band Association William D. Revelli Memorial Band Competition Winners Collection, 1977-2008

Walter Ross Collection

Russell Stanger Papers

Harvey Stokes Collection

William Stoney Papers, 1958-1996

New Music Performance Collection (NMPC)

The New Music Performance Collection (NMPC) is a circulating collection of published scores that provide opportunities for students and faculty to perform new music.

Compositions in the NMPC are searchable through the online catalog of the Old Dominion University Libraries.

Contemporary Composers Collection (CCC)

The Contemporary Composers Collection (CCC) consists of unpublished new music scores, promoting new music through performance and study. The University Libraries is actively pursuing donations.

 Materials in the CCC are suitable for performance by a variety of ensembles. 

The scores are available in the Diehn Composers Room.  Users who wish to use the full scores should call the DCR at 757-683-4173.

 View the CCC Finding Aid.

The first page of each score along with information about the composer are contained in a digital collection.

Student Performances

Currently, many of the recordings and programs from student and faculty concerts and recitals after 1987 are listed in the online catalog:

Old Dominion University Department of Music Performance Recordings Collection, 1966-2011

Historical Recordings Collection

The Historical Recordings Collection contains original 45s, 78s, and LPs that would be of interest to the researcher in music history.

Genres included are classical music, opera, spirituals, international folk music, and American jazz and show tunes.

There are currently two historical collections:

Future additions to the collection may include re-recordings of original material. This material is available for research in the Diehn Composers Room only.