Donations of books, manuscripts, archival materials and other items significantly contribute to teaching, learning, and research excellence of ODU. Many collections were established as gifts from generous alumni, faculty members and donors. A determination of whether a prospective gift enhances the value of our holdings for research, teaching and creative expression requires careful review. Staff members consider a variety of factors including, collection history, condition and existing collections strength and priorities. Our collections development strategy is also guided by our Diversity Statement.
Some helpful, general sources of information about rare books, archives and manuscript collections can be found in the Society of American Archivists’ brochures "A Guide to Donating Your Personal or Family Papers to a Repository" and "A Guide to Donating Your Organizational Records to a Repository" and the Association of Collection Research Libraries’ “Your Old Books.”
For questions or to discuss potential gifts of materials, please contact us at libspecialcollections@odu.edu.
Special Collections and Archives Fund helps us preserve and make accessible primary-source materials of historical importance to the university, region, state, and nation. Please contact libspecialcollections@odu.edu for more information about making a donation.
Composers and Musicians of Color and LGBTQIA+ – Music Special Collections has a strong base of materials documenting white, heteronormative stories from the performing arts. Recognizing the gaps this collection strategy produced, and Music Special Collections seek to now expand the musical story and to include Southeastern Virginia’s multi-faceted, and varied communities.
Official Records of Performing Arts Organizations – Seeking official records, or official archives of performing arts organizations that support or advocate for the subject areas within Music Special Collections collecting scope. Cultivate organizations that support musical history, music education, Virginian music, contemporary music, dance research, theatre research, and others consistent with the educational missions of Old Dominion University performing arts programs.
Southeastern Virginia Musical Performances & Concerts – Music Special Collections is looking for materials pertaining to Southeastern Virginian composers, performers, and ensembles performances and concerts. Including, but not limited to recordings, audio visual materials, programs, fliers, and posters.
Specific Musical Genre Collections – Materials pertaining to the study of Southeastern Virginian numerous musical traditions and culture, particularly that which informs the development and proliferation of these styles of music. Especially, collections created by music scholars, critics, and serious collectors. As well as, seeking limited contextual materials that only support the culture surrounding popular music (items about film, TV, radio, and other mass media).
Oral Histories of Musical Performers and Composers – In-depth interviews that provide evidential value for the history of music education, concert music, diverse voices (particularly persons of color and members of the LBGTQ+ community), various musical genres and band histories, especially those focused on Southeastern Virginia.
Published Scores – Music Special Collections will no longer accept published music scores, apart from pieces of high historic provenance, containing unique attributes, part of a cohesive collection, or extremely rare. Exceptions are up to the discretion of the Head of Special Collections and University Archives.
Sound Discs – Strategic collection development will be de-emphasizing the acceptance of sound discs. This category includes:
Contemporary Composers Collection – This collection consists of unpublished new music scores, promoting new music through performance and study. In order to be successful stewards of this collection requires a mix of initial and ongoing resources, including staff, space, supplies, equipment, and overhead. Based upon those considerations, Music Special Collections will no longer accept unpublished scores, whose publication status may change in the immediate future.
At Discretion of Head of SCUA – as the steward of the Old Dominion University Special Collections & University Archives historical identity, the Head reserves the right to accept, or decline any potential gifts.
Deed of Gift – The deed of gift is the foundation for conversations between Old Dominion University Special Collections and donors. Through the agreement, University Libraries clarifies as much as possible the rights and responsibilities of all parties pertaining to material donations. Discussing the terms of the deed is the best way to determine the wishes of the donor and ensuring that those wishes will be executed in the future.
Gift in Kind – Old Dominion University Foundation requires donors to complete a gift in kind form, as a financial receipt. While Special Collections staff are content experts capable of providing historical appraisal of materials on offer to the University, they cannot provide financial appraisals, or tax, or other legal advice. Donors are financially responsible for the financial appraisal of materials, should they choose to have their materials fiscally valued.
Rights and Ownership – All materials accepted, whether by donation or purchase, are governed by legal agreements. Upon the signing of the deed of gift, ownership of all materials is transferred to Old Dominion University. Moving forward, Music Special Collections determine the management of the materials, access, preservation measures and promotion.