Skip to main content

EndNote Installation & Help

EndNote Instructions - BASICS

Open EndNote

Start / Programs / EndNote 
     [If asked.....   Unless you want to use EndNote Web, choose “Do not integrate with EndNote Web at this time” – “Finish.”]

Create an EndNote library
  1. Select “Create a new library” --  OK.  Or, select “Open an existing library.”
         (You may need to go to “File” / “New” to create a new library.)
  2. Name the file and location for your library.  It will have the extension:  .enl   (You will also have a .Data directory saved.)
  3. Click “Save” and your EndNote Library will open. The “library” is where your references will be stored. The .Data directory will be in the same location as the .enl file -- it stores files you upload and the information necessary for the .enl file to operate.
To enter a citation manually
  1. Click “References” in the top toolbar, and select “New Reference.”
  2. Select a “Reference Type” (e.g., Journal Article) from the Reference Type dropdown menu at top, and then enter the reference information in the appropriate fields.
  3. When finished entering information, click “File / Close Reference” from the top toolbar.
To select a format (output) style and view the reference
  1. At the top toolbar, choose an output style from the dropdown menu. The default is “Annotated.”  Choose “Select Another Style…” and select from the options (e.g., MLA, APA, etc).  Click “Choose.”  With a MAC, the style may be near the bottom of the right column.
  2. Highlight a reference to view it in the Preview section.
To import a PDF (only pdfs with a DOI)
  1. Click "File" / "Import" / "File" (or "Folder" if you have a folder of pdfs).
  2. Choose the pdf from its location on your computer.
  3. Select "PDF" as your Import Option, then click "Import"
  4. If the article has a DOI, the full citation should appear with the pdf attached.  If no DOI, you may need to type the reference information manually, or import it from a database!

More Options

  • There is no limit to the number of references, but it is recommended that you not exceed 100,000 !!!
  • Edit References:  Double-click on the reference to open and edit, or use the Reference tab on the right column.
    • Add file attachments:  Right-click on a reference in your reference list to attach a file/s. The attachment icon will show before the author name. You may attach multiple pdfs, Word docs, images to a reference, but only one audio or video file.
    • Add a figure:  With the reference open, right-click and choose “Figure” to add one graphic or file into the Figure field of a record -- the figure can be cited in Word.
    • Add keywords to your references to be able to search and find them later (especially if the title is not descriptive). This can also help you to organize your library by topic
  • Sort References:  Click on the header (Author, Year, etc) to sort all references by that category.
  • Create Groups:  It can be very useful to create groups to organize your references (under “Groups” / “Create Group”)
  • Move References:  It’s easy to move references within groups (using copy/paste or “Groups”/ ”Add References To” or drag and drop references into groups)
  • Delete References:   Highlight reference/s to be deleted, right-click and “Move References to Trash.”
  • Find and Delete Duplicates:  Choose “References”/ “Find Duplicates” – duplicates will be shown together.  Select "Keep This Record" for the one you want to save.  The other will go to the trash.
  • Use Edit / Preferences to customize your library options --  e.g., change to Unicode font if you’re including references in other languages; “change case” for words that need to stay capitalized.
Save your library

Your references are automatically saved in your .enl file. An associated .Data directory is also saved. 

The .Data folder is a proprietary folder that houses information from your library. The .ENL file is an interface that pulls information from the .Data file and creates the interactive library you see. Without the .ENL file, you will not be able to read the information in the .Data file. Without the .Data file, the .ENL file will not be able to pull information for you to read.

Create a copy of your library
  1. With a library open, choose Save a Copy from the File menu.
  2. Name the new library and choose where to save it.

Click Save and EndNote creates a copy of the library and the .DATA directory.

The new library does not open, it is simply saved to disk, where you can then open it with EndNote. EndNote leaves your original library open as it was before the command was chosen. Note: The Save a Copy command also creates a [library name].DATA folder for the new library and copies all necessary files and images to it.

Create a Compressed Library -- best option

If you need to send your library to someone, or you need a more permanent backup, it's best to create a Compressed library which will contain both the .enl file and the .DATA directory. Under the FILE menu, select "Compressed Library (.enlx)..." to create a file that includes both the .enl file and the .DATA directory.

To simply copy references from your library into a bibliography:
  1. Select the appropriate style output.
  2. Highlight the references you wish to use in your bibliography.
  3. Right-click and select “Copy formatted” – then paste them into a Word document.

To format your paper with footnotes and bibliography, try “Cite While You Write.”

You may wish to import an existing EndNote library for several reasons, two of which are:

  • you want to merge references from a separate library
  • you want to use someone else's library

1) Open the "Compressed Library (.enlx)" as a new library on your computer.
2) In another EndNote library (that you saved as a backup), under FILE, click IMPORT, then File.
3) Choose the .enl file, and Open.
4) Select EndNote Library as your Import Option, then Import.

Importing an existing bibliography to EndNote:

Unfortunately there is no easy way to do this. You can try using  a too called Wizfolio developed by University of Missouri.

EndNote was not designed for compatibility with cloud storage (DropBox, Sharepoint, Google Drive, iCloud). While you can use the service to keep a backup copy or share a compressed copy of your database file(s), we do not recommend opening and/or using the database from that location. If you have your database files saved to Dropbox or any cloud storage, we recommend you copy the files to another location on your computer or remote drive before you open them.

It is necessary to double-check every reference, especially those exported from certain databases.  Look at:

Author.  Place multiple authors on separate lines. Use lastname, firstname...

Corporate author names. When entering a corporate author, you should follow it with a comma (eg, Smithsonian Museum,) – otherwise EN treats it as an individual author.  EN assumes everything before a comma is a last name.

Capitalization. In some cases, you’ll need to manually change the entry from all caps.

Title.  Some databases add descriptive information to a title to indicate the topic.

If your citation style requires that you use full journal names, and the exporting database provides only abbreviations, you may need to import a journal list.  See Knowledgebase entry.