EndNote Help & Installation

Open your EndNote library before beginning your database search.

Each of our databases has its own way to present citation information. EndNote works with most of them to allow a direct export from the database into your EndNote library.

Basic Instructions for DIRECT EXPORT:

1. Perform your search and select or mark items to export.
2. View marked items and select option for Export to EndNote.
3. Citations should now be available in your EndNote library.

Single References 

1. Login to your Monarch OneSearch account ("My Account") and conduct your search.
2. Click on the title of the item you want to export and you will see the full record.
3. In the "Send to" options, select Export RIS (EndNote)
4. Click DOWNLOAD (Encoding defaults to UTF-8).
5. In Firefox downloads, select Open
   • In Chrome, save the file on your computer, and then click on the Primo_RIS_Export... file.
6. The reference will be added to your most recently opened EndNote Library.

Multiple References

1. Login to your Monarch OneSearch account ("My Account") and  conduct your search.
2. Click the PIN button  to the right for each title you wish to export (it will become:  ).
3. After you've pinned your references to your Favorites page, click the PIN button at the top right menu bar  to see your "favorites."
4. Under the "Saved Records" tab, check to export all items. Or, individually check each item you want to export. 
5. Click the ellipsis  to the right of the "MY Favorites" options above to open the export options.
6. Click the Export RIS (EndNote) option.
7. Click DOWNLOAD (Encoding defaults to UTF-8).
8. In Firefox downloads, select Open
   • In Chrome, save the file on your computer, and then click on the Primo_RIS_Export.ris file (usually at the bottom of the page).
9. The references will be added to your most recently opened EndNote Library.

EBSCO

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, select an item or mark items to export by clicking the blue folder to the right of the reference.
2. Click Folder View on the right (or at top) to view marked items.
3. On the Marked Items list, click SELECT ALL (or choose specific items); then click the EXPORT icon (with green arrow). 
4. Select Direct Export in RIS Format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero)  [It is a good idea to un-check “Remove these items…” in case you need to get back to them.]  Then click Save.
5. Select and open your EndNote library. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

Engineering Village

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, select an item or mark items to export.
2. Click Download at the top; select Record Output (use "Detailed record" to get all information); then choose RIS, Endnote…; click Download.
3. In the "File Download" box, click Open. (in Firefox, select EndNote X6 to "Open with" and check the box to "Do this automatically...")
4. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

FirstSearch (WorldCat)

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, select an item or mark items to export.
2. Click the Export icon above the results. 
3. Select EndNote at "Export to:." Then click Export.
4. In EndNote, select the filter for the database you are using (eg, WorldCat (OCLC)). Click Choose.
5. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

NOTE: For WorldCat references, you may need to delete the space before the colon in a title with a subtitle.

Gale

1. Perform your search.  Mark desired records to export.
2. Click on Marked Items at top. Marked items will display.
3. Click Citation Tools in “Tools” box.
4. From “Export to third party software” options, select EndNote and click Export.
5. In the “File Download” box, click Open.
6. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

Google Scholar 

Google Scholar only allows importing one reference at a time.

IMPORTANT:  Click Settings and select EndNote from the dropdown box under “Bibliography Manager”.

1. Perform your search. Within your list of citations, click Import into EndNote for each individual citation you wish to export.
2. In the "File Download" box, click Open.
3. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

IEEE Xplore

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, mark item/s to export.
2. Click Export at top; then, click Citations. 
3. Check the RIS option, and click to include Citation & Abstract (if desired).  Click Export.
4. In Firefox, click Open with EndNote X# (then click "Do this automatically..." so this will be your default).  Click OK. 
5. Reference/s will open in EndNote.

To export a single reference:

1. With the reference open, scroll down to the contents and click "Download Citation" at left.
2. Follow #3-4 above. 

JSTOR

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, mark items to export.
2. Click Export Citation
3. Click RIS file
4. In pop-up box, select Open, and then click OK.
5. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

[NOTE: If EndNote is not already open, it should open automatically after clicking OK]

Project MUSE

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, select an item(s) to export by clicking Save Citation.
2. At the top of the screen click Saved Citations.
3. Click Export to EndNote under "Option 2: EndNote."
4. In pop-up box select Open and click OK.
5. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

ProQuest

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, select an item(s) to export.
2. Mouse over Export/Save and click EndNote, Reference Manager,...
   1. You can also click Export/Save and then select EndNote, Reference Manager... from the dropdown box next to "Output to:"
3. In pop-up box, click Continue.
4. In the next pop-up box, select Open and then click OK.
5. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

PsycNET (APA)

Important: If using Internet Explorer, be sure to turn off the Pop-Up Blocker (Under "Tools") first.

1. Perform your search.  Mark records to be exported.
2. Click the Export icon at top; then make sure "Reference Software" is selected in the dropdown box next to "Export to"; then click GO
3. In the "File Download" box, click Open.
4. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

PubMed

1. Perform your search.  Mark desired references.
2. From the Send to drop-down menu, select "Citation Manager".
3. Click Create File.
4. Your citations will appear in your EndNote library.

Science Direct

1. Perform your search.  From your results screen, select item(s) to export.
2. Click the Export Citations icon.
3. Select RIS format...; then click Export.
4. In pop-up box click Open.
5. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

SciFinder

1. Open your EndNote library
2. Perform your search in SciFinder-n. Mark the records you wish to export to EndNote.
3. On the top right side toolbar, click the Download icon
4. In the box that pops up, go to the File Type dropdown and change it to Citation (.ris)
5. Click Download at the bottom left
6. In the File Download box of your browser, select Open.
7. Citations should now be available in Endnote.

ODU students, faculty and staff must REGISTER for their own user account in order to login to the database.

Web of Knowledge

(Arts & Humanities Citation Index; Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; BIOSIS; Zoological Record)

1. Perform your search. From your results screen, select an item or mark items to export. Before moving to the next page, you need to click "Add to Marked List." View marked items from the "Marked List" option at top.
2. Click Endnote beside "Save to".
3. If box pops up, select Open and click OK.
   1.   If box does not pop up, click Export and then select Open and click OK when the box pops up.
4. Citations should now be available in EndNote.

Some of our databases don't support EndNote (e.g., FirstSearch). EndNote provides filters to interpret the citation information from these databases, which requires an extra step.  You may need to go to the EndNote download site for filters.