Music

A list of links to sheet music collections organized by Duke University Libraries.

Contains over 29,000 pieces of music and focuses on popular American music spanning the period 1780 to 1960. Site created by Special Collection, Milton S. Eisenhower Library, the Johns Hopkins University.

Funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the University of California, Santa Barbara Libraries have created a digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings held by their Department of Special Collections.

A multimedia reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. The archive is housed within the Anne Potter Wilson Music Library in Vanderbilt University's Blair School of Music.

This archival collection contains music manuscripts, first editions, letters and pictures from the Beethoven-Haus. Links to more than 5,000 documents, 1600 audio files and 7,600 text files.

Includes 925 records of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts. This database is an on-going research project developed in association with the Indiana University Digital Library Program and retired IU faculty member, Herbert Seltz.

A special digital collection within the Morgan Library & Museum that features over 500 high-quality scans of musical manuscripts of compositions from the Baroque to more recent periods. Can browse by a comprehensive list of composers or by a manuscript list.

Explore music, theatre, and dance research collections at the Library of Congress. Includes resource guide, digital collections, and online catalogs.

A collection held by the Ward Irish Music Archives in Milwaukee, WI of freely available high-quality digitized images of public domain print music. Includes music published from approximately 1750 to the present. Full access is given only to those items published before 1923. Music published since that year remains under copyright.

This state agency was created to support and stimulate excellence in all of the arts, in their full cultural and ethnic diversity, and to make the arts accessible to all Virginians. The Commission provides financial assistance for arts activities and information/advisory services to artists, arts organizations, and others interested in the arts.

An independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities.

Artists in the Workforce: 1990-2005 is the first nationwide look at artists' demographic and employment patterns in the 21st century. Artists in the Workforce analyzes working artist trends, gathering new statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau to provide a comprehensive overview of this workforce segment and its maturation over the past 30 years, along with detailed information on specific artist occupations.